Closing thoughts on 2011

image
Info
Comments
  • NewYearsBlast1

    Another year comes to a close. A new year to look forward to

    Being of Scottish heritage, New Years is very important.  In the past even more important that Christmas.  Having Scottish parents and having family and friends and 8 weeks each summer spent in Scotland the Scottish traditions are hard put behind me, and honestly I don’t want to, I like them.

    One of the things my parents impressed to me was the tradition of how your, life, finances, home, relationships etc were at midnight on December 31st was how they would be for the coming year.  Mum NEVER had a bill unpaid or money owing on the 1st, the house was spotless the pantry was stocked, and quarrels were settled.  This assured her that the coming year would be good and I must say they have had a pretty good life 🙂

    So why am I sitting here writing a blog post when I am sure I have some bills to pay, some cleaning to do and should probably be out shopping to “fill the pantry” .  I am doing this because York Professional Pet Sitting, all my team, all my fur clients, and all my 2 legged clients mean so very much to me and I want them to be in 2012 as well.

    I don’t want to get too mushy but 12 years ago when I started York Professional Pet Sitting I never dreamed the business could grow to what it has, I never imagined I would form the relationships I have with team members and clients (2 and 4 legged) and I just feel so very blessed and lucky to have you all as part of my life and I just want to say thank you and do what I can to ensure that it continues in 2012.

    2011 has been a great year and in some spots a sad year.  We have lost some pets from our lives that we had a very strong attachment too and every time that happens it is like losing a family member.  We cry, we grieve for you and with you and yet we feel truly honoured to have been able to spend the time we have with your pet.

    In 2011 we have a new website that I think everyone likes, a new secure online system, and a referral program.  We carry Dog Rocks  and have a blog.  We are building a great local pet community on our Facebook page and tweeting on twitter (though this is still a challenge for me as I am just too long winded :-)) and of course we ended the year right by winning the 2011 Readers Choice Award at Toronto Pet Daily for Best Dog Walking/Pet Care business

    I am excited about 2012, meeting new clients, learning more about how to keep our fur kids living longer, healthier and happier lives, listening to our clients to find out how we can serve them better and putting systems into place to make that happen.  I also hope to run some new contests and programs to help team members and clients put some extra cash in their pockets.   Actually there will be a New Year’s Contest out in the next day or two so keep your eyes and ears open 🙂

    Well speaking of being long winded, I should stop now and make sure everything is in order for our traditional Scottish New Year.  I leave you with one more big THANK YOU – for letting us be part of our lives and trusting us with the care of your beloved pets – and finally my favourite Scottish Blessing

    If there is righteousness in the heart,
    there will be beauty in the character.
    If there is beauty in the character,
    there will be harmony in the home.
    If there is harmony in the home,
    there will be order in the nation.
    If there is order in the nation,
    there will be peace in the world.
    So let it be.
    Scottish Blessing

    Wishing you all a very healthy, happy and prosperous 2012.

    Morag and the Team at York Professioanl Pet Sitting

  • We would love to hear your comments

    